A Trip Down Memory Lane

I know … I’m super late on last week’s post … my apologies, there was a lot going on.  Yesterday (2/21) my Dad had a minor surgery (in and out the same day) but I was a bit nervous about how he might react to the anesthesia (he’ll be 74 in June and he’s never had surgery before; hope I got those genes from him) he came through it like a trooper; my brothers and I couldn’t believe how great he was after the surgery. 

So here I am at the house I grew up in; a 20 acre farm in Wheeler NY.  You know how they say that scent can be one of the strongest memory triggers … this morning I went to the bakery where as a kid my sweet tooth took permanent root, The Betty Kay Bake Shop.  It still smelled exactly as I remembered, and those snowballs (a chunk of white cake with white buttercream frosting rolled in coconut) were as good as I remembered from way back when (how often does that happen?).  What prompted the trip to the bakery this morning, you might ask (unless you know me well and know that it’s unlikely I need any other reason than “hey, there’s a bakery”)  In this case, there actually was a reason.

Tony

Yesterday while my Dad was having his surgery, my brothers and I went down the street to get some lunch (we were all starving since, out of solidarity, we didn’t have breakfast.  We didn’t even want to have coffee in front of him because we felt so badly that he couldn’t have any).  So we went to the Crooked Lake Ice Cream ParlorTony & I had an absolutely amazing fish sandwich (the fries were out of this world) and Andy got a cheeseburger that looked delicious (Andy said that it was, in his typically brief manner).

Donna & Andy

I’ve got a big hospital/needle/doctor phobia and was somewhat dreading the trip … it’s funny how something good can come so unexpectedly.  Tony, Andy and I were en route to the Crooked Lake and I realized (as we were all chatting away) that it’s been YEARS since the 3 of us had spent any time alone together (always spouses, kids, parents, friends, etc. are along), in fact, I can’t remember the last time the 3 of us had hung out together.  It was a little odd, but in a good way.  I really enjoyed spending time with them, I’d forgotten how fun, funny and intelligent they are; I think that we often take our siblings for granted.  But I digress … the bakery … as we ate we were remminissing about things and THE BAKERY came up.  My Mom’s beauty parlor had been near that bake shop; Tony said “The kids love it” …”It’s still there?” I thought I’d faint, all kinds of things were running through my mind, but the biggest was “Is it really still good?” and Tony answered with an “Oh Yeah!”  I mentally added a trip to the bakery to my “to do” list.

This morning Dad’s doing fabulous, he slept well, he’s at his computer already and I’ve come back from the grocery store and bakery run.  Grocery store … tuna fish for lunch, pork chops, asparagus, peppers and onions (with pepperoni bread from the bakery) for dinner tonight; fruit salad for dessert (and cookies from the bakery :) … bacon and eggs for breakfast tomorrow, lunch out (if he’s feeling up to getting out for a bit) … meatloaf with mushrooms, and ravioli in tomato sauce plus a few other necessities.  Bakery … some doughnuts (raspberry filled long johns, boston cream, and apple), black and white cookies, 2 dozen of their mixed cookies, 4 snowballs, and a loaf of pepperoni bread.  Nothing left to say but “mmmmmm”.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 19:19:02

    I’m glad your Dad is doing well. It doesn’t surprise me that you found the silver lining. Safe trip home tomorrow. You were missed.

    Reply

  2. Paolo
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 10:07:02

    Hi Donna,
    Thanks for sharing.
    Great to see what your brothers look like and to hear that your dad’s doing fine.
    Looking forward to seeing you next weekend. Hope the train trip is less crowded on the way back.
    Hugs.

    Reply

  3. Donna Wasilewski
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 14:32:57

    Those sound delicious! The chocolate covered marshmallow cookies look really yummy … the remind me of Mallowmars.

    Reply

  4. David
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 13:01:18

    Glad to hear your Dad’s doing well, and that you’re enjoying a trip down memory lane. I think we all need one of those every now and then.

    We also had cakes called snowballs when I was growing up in Glasgow, Scotland. They were produced by a local Scottish bakery, Tunnocks, and had a soft marshmallow filling and were covered in chocolate and coconut:

    http://www.tunnock.co.uk/snowball.html

    They also made Caramel Logs and Caramel Wafers, as well as Teacakes which were always available at my Grandparents houses:

    http://www.tunnock.co.uk/products2.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

